54th Annual Atlantic Radiology Conference

Keynote Dr. Desiree Morgan confirmed

We are very happy to announce we will be honoured with Dr. Desiree Morgan from the University of Alabama as one of our two keynote speakers at this year’s conference.

Desiree E. Morgan, MD is the Vice Chair of Education at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Prior to being appointed the Vice Chair of Education, Dr. Morgan served as the UAB Department of Radiology Vice Chair of Clinical Research, where her duties centered on facilitating scholarly achievement and fostering collaborative research involving state of the art clinical imaging for physicians at all levels of training. She is a member of the Abdominal Imaging section and her clinical subspecialty focus in general is gastrointestinal radiology and in particular imaging of the pancreas and hepatobiliary system. Dr. Morgan’s departmental role as Director of MRI from 2005- 2015 enabled her to introduce new MR imaging techniques to UAB, including physiologic MR image acquisition and MR biomarker evaluation of intraabdominal tumors.

Since joining the faculty in 1993, Dr. Morgan has mentored numerous medical students, residents, and junior faculty in a variety of preclinical and clinical research endeavors. Her research interests include abdominal dual energy CT, physiologic abdominal MR imaging, and neoplastic and inflammatory conditions of the pancreas. Dr. Morgan is a Senior Scientist in the Experimental Therapeutics Program and served as the inaugural Director of the Human Imaging Shared Facility of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center, where she continues to apply her expertise in Oncologic imaging to create a systematic approach to tumor imaging surveillance and the development and utilization of imaging biomarkers in patients participating in therapeutic clinical trials.

Dr. Morgan has won numerous teaching awards including the UASOM Argus Award, Outstanding Faculty Lecturer Medical Student Radiology Elective Awards, The UAB Department of Radiology Teacher of the Year Distinguished Faculty Award, Multiple Louisville Slugger (senior radiology resident) Awards. She is an eleven time recipient of the “Top Ten” Faculty Award for Excellence in Resident Education; in 2013 she served as the Society of Abdominal Radiology Igor Laufer Traveling Professor, an honor reserved for outstanding physician educators. Most recently, she was awarded the UAB Brewer-Heslin Award for Professionalism in Medicine, an honor reserved for the School of Medicine faculty member who upholds the highest ideals of integrity, honesty, and concern for his or her patients.

Dr. Morgan is a Fellow of the Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance and a both a Fellow and Board member of the Society of Abdominal Radiology. She is active in many national radiological organizations and serves on multiple national committees for the Radiological Society of North America, the American Roentgen Ray Society, and the American Board of Radiology

October 4-6 2019

Halifax Convention Centre
Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Contact Us

Nova Scotia Association of Radiologists
1796 Summer Street
3rd Floor, Room 3510
Halifax, NS, B3H 3A7

Phone: 902.473.7943

Conference Chair
Dr. E. Ashley Wiley

Conference Coordinator
Krista Whitehouse

Conference location: